Skip to main content

Texas Democratic Women (TDW) was organized in 1987 to elect more women to all levels of office and to assist in the growth of the Democratic party in Texas. TDW has worked closely with such groups as the Texas Women’s Political Caucus and the League of Women Voters of Texas and in 1992 participated with these and other organizations in a statewide voter registration project.

TDW is an affiliate member of the National Federation of Democratic Women (NFDW), an organization formed in 1971. TDW’s and NFDW’s goals are aligned: to encourage women to get involved in all aspects of the political process and to run for elected office.

In 1992 TDW was selected to host in Austin the 1993 convention of the National Federation of Democratic Women. In 1992 the president of TDW was Mae J. Jackson of Waco, the first African American woman ever elected as Mayor of Waco. Currently, one of the annual TDW awards is the “Mae Jackson” award.

Celebrating Women

We invite you to join us in our mission is to inform and educate women and others on the issues we face in today’s challenging world. We hope to inspire everyone to make their voices heard, become involved in the political process and support our goal of electing more Democratic women at all levels of government.